The Florence Reinauer Memorial Music Award and The Marjorie Vandervoort Vocal Award

The Florence Reinauer Memorial Music Award for excellence in vocal or instrumental performance. Instituted in 1967, the fund was later endowed by Franklin Reinauer as a memorial to his wife Florence. In 2013 the award was increased to $2,500 and since its inception, over $42,500 has been awarded to encourage talented young musicians.

The Marjorie Vandervoort Vocal Award in the amount of $1,200 was instituted during the 90th Anniversary Season (2017-2018) in honor of Marjorie Vandervoort’s 25 years of service as our Music Director. This award is intended solely for excellence in vocal performance.

Donations to underwrite these awards are welcomed and are tax deductible. To make a donation to either Award, please go to the Donations page. The Ridgewood Choral thanks you in advance for your support of our Awards. Donors and honorees are listed in the annual concert program.

To apply, please fill out the award application


2018 Florence Reinauer Memorial Music Award. Isaac Ketter (alto saxaphonist) has been awarded the 2018 Florence Reinauer Memorial Music Award.

Isaac Ketter

Mr. Ketter, a senior at Fair Lawn High School, is the first jazz musician to receive the Reinauer Award. He studies with Alexander Knox, Roman Filiu and Scott Avidon. At Fair Lawn High School, he is First Chair in the Symphonic Band and the Wind Ensemble. He was awarded Most Outstanding Musician in the Jazz Ensemble and is also lead alto. He is a soloist with Jazz House Kids Ambassador Ensemble and plays with the Fair Lawn Bible Church Worship Team. He attended the Kimmel Jazz Camp in Philadelphia.

Fair Lawn High School Student Wins Ridgewood Choral Scholarship


2018 Marjorie Vandervoort Vocal Award. Tiffani Amber Rivera has been awarded the first Marjorie Vandervoort Vocal Award.

Tiffani Rivera

Ms. Rivera is a senior at Suffern High School.  She has been in Suffern High’s Treble Choir for three years, Select Choir for two years and is a member of the Music Honor Society. This year she co-founded a Sweet Adeline’s quartet.  For the past two years she has been chosen for the New York State School Music Association, Zone 9 All-County and All-State Women’s Choirs. She studies with Bette Glenn.  As a soloist she has performed at open mics and sung with Suffern’s Big Band. 



2017 Andrew Hughes (violist). (

2017 Honorable Mention Jimin Park (soprano)

2016 Marina Sakellakis (saxophonist)

2016 Honorable Mention Molly Ferguson (soprano)

2015 Davis C. Badaszewski (organist) (

2015 Honorable Mentions – Marcus Jefferson (tenor) and Katy Wong (harpist) (

2014 1st Place Winner Tiffany Sun (flutist) (

2014 2nd Place Winner Mark Serkin (cellist) (

2013 Samantha Park (Soprano)

2013 Honorable Mention Rebecca Lipstein (soprano)

2012 Dana Ramirez (violin)

2011 Ruriko Terada (harp)

2010 Beata Safari (pianist)

2009 Renata Kapilevich (vocalist) (

2008 $1000 Winner Emma Schmiedecke (cellist) (

2008 $500 Winner Jessica Eucker (vocalist) (

2007 Kristen McGuire (flutist) (

2006 Robert Farruggia (vocalist) (

2005 Andrea Mumm (harpist) (

2004 Carl Patrick Bolleia (pianist) (

2003 Patrick Laird (cellist) (

2002 Peter Folliard (euphonium) (

2001 Daniel Munm (cellist)

2000 Richard J. Hicks, III (cellist)

1999 Elizabeth Lowry (vocalist)

1998 Samantha Friedrich (vocalist)

1997 Maria Clara Mallonga (pianist)

1996 John Williams (tuba player)

1995 Sarah Anne Lewis (vocalist)

1994 Jennifer Cho (vocalist)

1993 Viera Effler (pianist)

1992 Stephanie Ferrari (vocalist)

1991 Minako Imada (pianist)

1990 Elizabeth Cassidy (vocalist)

1989 Lisa Yaeger (vocalist)

1988 Yasuko Masaki (pianist)

1987 Margaret Topken (clarinetist)

1986 Marissa Regni (violinist)

1985 Miyako Sakai (pianist)

1984 Wendy Margo (pianist)

1983 Jody Lichtig (vocalist)

1982 Micahel Joseph Maraz (vocalist)

1981 Sarah Janick (pianist)

1980 Claire Benacerraf (vocalist)

1979 Margaret Bethke

1978 Susan Willen

1977 Elizabeth Foerster

1976 Ruthanne Wiley

1975 Jeffrey Good

1974 Dennis O’Shea

1973 David Boeddinhause

1972 Nicholas Schidlovsky

1971 Donald L. Appert

1970 James Rile

1969 Joy E. Buhler

1968 Janice Weber

1967 Denise Brown


The Richard Lane Memorial Composition Award


Winner Andrei Foca-Rodi receiving his award from benefactors Lil and Len Rubin

Lil and Len Rubin, of Maywood, (center and right) are shown presenting the $1000 award they endowed to Andrei Foca-Rodi, of Fort Lee, formerly of Hackensack. The presentation was made at the Richard Lane Memorial Composition Award Concert On October 14, 2006, hosted by The Ridgewood Choral, of which Lil Rubin is a long-standing member. In addition to music composed or arranged by Richard Lane, former accompanist of the Choral who died in 2004,  the piano compositions of three finalists were performed at this concert, including Musical Moments, the selected  winning piece by Mr. Foca-Rodi, a student at New Jersey City University.

Richard Lane, an internationally recognized composer and accompanist for the Ridgewood Choral for over 35 years, wrote a wealth of music for instrument and voice. His talents were given to the Choral in the many choral/vocal pieces he wrote or arranged expressly for this women’s chorus. The Ridgewood Choral premiered “A Spring Bouquet,” written for us to celebrate our 75th anniversary, in 2003. And, in honor of the 90th Anniversary, the Ridgewood Choral will again perform “A Spring Bouquet” at its 90th Annual Spring Concert. Richard Lane was a teacher of piano and music composition, and a graduate of the Eastman School of Music. He was a member of ASCAP and Music Educators Association.